Posted by: thoughtfulnomad | August 4, 2010

I need to shower

I left Dallas at noon on the 3rd, got to Seoul, South Korea at 4:30 pm on the 4th, and will get to Beijing at 10:35 am on the 5th. I am having trouble remembering what day it is. I stayed up all night on the 2nd so that I could sleep during the 14.5 hour flight. I took a Benadryl right before I got on the plane and managed to sleep for about 11 hours. The flight felt really short, minus the numb butt, so my planning worked. When I got to Seoul, I took an hour-long bus ride into the city. I was able to walk around for a few hours before dark. There were tiny alleyways everywhere with tons of market stalls selling food and everything from shoes to cell phone dangle things(?).  There were bright neon lights on every building, and enough coffee places to never fall asleep again. There were also 2 Starbucks on the same street…I never knew karaoke was such a big thing on a Wednesday evening. I knew that it was popular over here, but I didn’t ever think that I would see a line outside a karaoke club at 7pm on a Wednesday. Talk about intense. I ended up wandering through a bunch of alleys and streets which got me slightly lost on the way back to the bus stop, but I managed to back track and find it. Jet lag really started to hit me on the bus ride back when I noticed that I had been staring at the same spot on the windshield, completely zoned out, for a good five minutes. I got back to the airport around 9:30pm, went through security and immigration, then went into the restroom. When I came out about five minutes later, the entire terminal had completely shut down. I’m not sure how this happened during that short amount of time, but it did. So now I’m sitting on a couch in this handy little internet corner they have set up, alone besides some workers (one  just walked up and waved to me), in the near dark, messing around on the internet and snacking on granola. And I need to shower. 14.5 hours on a plane, 3 hours sweating in Seoul “extreme humidity,” South Korea, and 14 more hours of layover do not add up to a clean person. Oh well.

Responses

  1. I hope you and Christopher are enjoying your stay in Beijing. (I met him through one of your posts!!!!) Please read Finally Here! for a good “I can’t believe my Mom did that” laugh!:)

    Hopefully, you won’t have the same experiences as Christopher and can keep down the food you are eating. I will say that I kept shaking my head in wonder as I read his info thinking how does this fit with Kristen. Obviously, it didn’t. Oh, well…..chalk it up to a VERY long day of interviews that have left me brain dead!

    As to you, my dear Kristen, I hope things are going well and you are nearing a shower. EVERYONE is asking about you – Matt, Mom, Uncle George…. Good luck in Beijing, Sweetie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

