Posted by: thoughtfulnomad | April 17, 2010

Nay sick mm sick gog ying mun a?

According to my newly obtained Cantonese Chinese phrase book, “nay sick mm sick gog ying mun a?” is something I’m really going to have to become familiar with. “Do you speak english?” will probably become my go to phrase. Even though it’s been spelled out in my book so that I will know how to pronounce it, I’m still not entirely sure if I’m saying it correctly. All I know is that while reading through the phrases and trying to say them, I couldn’t stop laughing at myself. I’m assuming I’ll get the same reaction when I try to actually use them once I’m in China…it’s a good thing I already have no problem finding the humor in my attempts. What’s also good is that the phrase books have the Chinese, Thai, etc. symbols for the words next to them to be used when, inevitably, all I get are raised eyebrows and weird looks when I try to communicate. Honestly, though, I can’t wait.

Also, I’ve started writing my first story that I’m going to try to submit and get published. In a nutshell, it’s about how my young age affected me when I traveled around Europe after high school. After finishing the rough draft, I realized that it really has been a long time since I’ve done any serious writing. In other words, it’s going to take a lot of editing and revising.

Responses

  1. Another phrase that is a must….

    I miss you, Mom!


Leave a Reply

Categories

